Rural Health Care

Step 1 Determine Eligibility

Eligible Services

Eligible health care providers are permitted to apply to receive reduced rates for a variety of telecommunications services. Health care providers may seek support for multiple telecommunications services of any bandwidth and for monthly Internet service charges.

Telecommunications: Eligible

Eligible telecommunications services and charges include, but are not limited to:

  • ATM (Asynchronous Transfer Mode)
  • Centrex
  • DSL
  • Ethernet
  • Fiber
  • Fractional T1
  • Frame relay
  • ISDN
  • Mileage-related charges
  • MPLS
  • NRS – Network Reconfiguration Service
  • OC-1
  • OC-3
  • Redundant circuit
  • Satellite service
  • Telephone service
  • T1
  • T3 or DS3

These services are supported up to the maximum allowable distance (MAD). The applicant is responsible for the cost of services beyond the MAD.

Telecommunications: Ineligible

Telecommunications equipment does not qualify for support. The following examples are not eligible:

  • Special construction and maintenance charges
  • Franchises
  • Zone charges
  • Surcharges

The cost of construction or infrastructure build-out for the installation of telecommunications services is not supported. For example, if a wall must be removed, a street dug up, or a cable laid, these costs would not be eligible for support.

Internet Access

Internet access is no longer available through the Telecommunications Program. As of Funding Year 2014, support for Internet access charges is available through the Healthcare Connect Fund (HCF) Program. To learn more, visit the HCF Program section of our website.