Rural Health Care


There are three initial criteria a health care provider (HCP) must meet to participate in the Rural Health Care Program.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. HCPs must be one of the following types of entities:
    1. Post-secondary educational institutions offering health care instruction, such as teaching hospitals and medical schools,
    2. Community health centers or health centers providing health care to migrants,
    3. Local health departments or agencies,
    4. Community mental health centers (See eligibility criteria),
    5. Not-for-profit hospitals,
    6. Rural health clinics,
    7. Consortia of HCPs consisting of one or more of the above entities,
    8. Dedicated emergency departments of rural for-profit hospitals,
    9. Part-time eligible entities located in facilities that are ineligible, or
    10. Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNFs) (effective January 1, 2017).
  2. HCPs must be a not-for-profit entity or a public entity.
  3. HCPs must be located in an FCC-approved rural location.

Each HCP site or location is considered an individual HCP for purposes of calculating support under the RHC Program. Each site must thus demonstrate that by itself, it is an eligible entity.

Once your HCP has been established as eligible, you should ensure that the services you request are eligible for support.